MSC Innovation Night

The MSC Innovation Night is the flagship event on the eve of the start of the Munich Security Conference, which is organized jointly by the organizer of the MSC and the Cyber ​​Innovation Hub of the Bundeswehr. It is an excellent and exclusive forum to pitch your innovation project. The MSC Innovation Series brings together top-class political decision makers with top-class actors from politics, science, the digital economy and civil society.

Recap MSC Innovation Night 2024

Innovation is not optional, innovation is essential if the western allies want to succeed. At our MSC Innovation Night, top-class guests discussed how this could be archived given the global political situation under the motto "Making more out of Stronger Together." Tenor of the evening: strategic partnerships are the key to success. They can provide cooperation between the private sector, the startup ecosystem and the military community while contributing to meet the current security policy challenges. In addition, because time is short, innovations have to be implemented quickly to enable NATO troops to fight and archive their mission.

In his keynote, Sven Weizenegger, CEO of Cyber Innovation Hub of the Bundeswehr, showed how this could look like: by building a strong startup ecosystem and using dual-use products. However, although speed is very important when it comes to equipping German and allied soldiers, long-term financing of products must always be taken into account, in order not to end up in the “valley of death”.

Inspector General Carsten Breuer discussed how the Bundeswehr wants to make itself war ready and how partnerships can be used as effectively as possible on the panel with General Philippe Lavigne, the Commander-in-Chief of the NATO Allied Command Transformation (ACT). Breuer: “We have to become ready for war. But we can't take 10 or 20 years of development." The German Armed Forces are already closing the transformation gap, said the Inspector General – reality is forcing Germany to do so. For example, this can be shown in the fact that the Bundeswehr is purchasing significantly more off-the-shelf products.

 

The guests at the MSC Innovation Night were able to see tangible examples of a strong innovation ecosystem afterwards. First with a video message from the Ukrainian Minister for Digital Transformation, Mykhailo Fedorov. Minister Fedorov first explained how Ukraine managed to implement highly innovative solutions for the armed forces in a very short time and build a powerful drone army through non-bureaucratic procurement and financing of startups.

The Innovation Night was topped off with three tangible examples from the Bundeswehr's Cyber Innovation Hub, which illustrate how the war in Ukraine accelerated the German armed forces' ability to transform. This has shown how fruitful collaboration with innovative startups can be in order to make soldiers ready for war.

Review: MSC Innovation Night 2024

Our speakers

  • General Carsten Breuer

    General Breuer has been Inspector General of the Bundeswehr since March 2023. As the highest-ranking soldier, he is responsible for the overall concept for military defense, the leadership of the troops and the Bundeswehr's operations and missions. Since Russia's war of aggression on Ukraine, General Breuer has been responsible for aligning the Bundeswehr with national and alliance defense and preparing it for the challenges of the 21st century. In short: He is responsible for the military implementation of the „Zeitenwende“  (political turning point scince the Russo-Ukrainian War in 2022). 

  • Mykhailo Fedorov

    As Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Digital Transformation of Ukraine, Mykhailo Fedorov is one of the key players in the war against Russia alongside President Zelensky. From a hacking army, to the use of AI, UAVs and VR innovations, to the famous e-government app Diia – no country can currently keep up with the pace of innovation of the Ukrainian Armed Forces. Under the most difficult conditions, innovators design digital, creative and innovative solutions, which are immediately deployed to the front lines.

  • General Philippe Lavigne

    As Commander-in-Chief of the NATO Allied Command Transformation (ACT), General Philippe Lavigne is responsible for NATO's digital transformation and therefore works in one of the key positions in the areas of digitalization and innovation. General Lavigne was a guest at the MSC Innovation Night for the first time last year. At the time, he emphasized on the panel that innovation is not just technology, but also a new way of thinking. For that, our armed forces must internalize a real innovation mindset.

  • David van Weel

    David van Weel is NATO Deputy Secretary General for Innovation, Hybrid Threats and Cyberspace. This makes him the most important advisor to NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg on issues related to new technological challenges. Its mission is to develop and provide solutions to current and future military challenges to the Alliance. This is to ensure the alliance's innovation and technological lead in the long term.

  • Christoph Heusgen

    Christoph Heusgen has been chairperson of the Munich Security Conference since 2022. The top diplomat was previously Germany's permanent representative to the United Nations and during this time, among other things, chaired the UN Security Council in April 2019 and July 2020. Heusgen is a close consultant of former German Chancellor Angela Merkel and advised the Chancellor on foreign and security policy issues for over 12 years.

  • Jeanne Meserve

    Jeanne Meserve is an international security analyst. The award-winning Canadian journalist will host this year's MSC Innovation Night. She has been an anchor and correspondent for CNN and ABC News and won two Emmy Awards and an Edward R. Murrow Award. She also contributed to two CNN Peabody Awards for coverage of Hurricane Katrina, among others, and anchored CNN's award-winning coverage of the assassination of Yitzhak Rabin and the death of Princess Diana.

Retrospect: MSC Innovation Night 2023

The intersection between technological innovation and security has never been more dynamic. New challenges, but also opportunities, are constantly emerging, on both real and more abstract frontlines. At the MSC Innovation Night 2023, top-class guests debated the topic of “Technology Defined Defense”. Rich Lesser in particular emphasized in his keynote address that the “Defense Innovation Readiness Gab” should be close quickly in order to be able to react agilely to possible threats. You can find his remarks as well as all speeches and start-up pitches from the MSC Innovation Night 2023 in our video retrospect. 

Last year's speaker

MSC Innovation Night

Die MSC Innovation Night ist das Leuchtturm-Event am Vorabend des Starts der Münchener Sicherheitskonferenz, die gemeinsam vom Veranstalter der MSC und dem Cyber Innovation Hub der Bundeswehr ausgerichtet wird. Es ist ein hervorragendes und exklusives Forum, um dein Innovationsvorhaben zu pitchen, denn die MSC Innovation Series bringt hochkarätige politische Akteure mit hochkarätigen Akteuren aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Digitalwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft zusammen. 

von

Recap MSC Innovation Night 2024

Innovation ist nicht optional, Innovation ist unerlässlich, wenn der Westen erfolgreich sein will. Wie das angesichts der weltpolitischen Situation gelingen kann, diskutierten bei unserer MSC Innovation Night hochkarätige Gäste unter dem Motto "Making more out of Stronger Together.“ Tenor des Abends: Partnerschaften sind der Schlüssel dazu. Zwischen Privatwirtschaft,  Startup-Ökosystem und Military Community können sie dazu beitragen, den aktuellen sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen entgegenzutreten. Und weil die Zeit drängt, müssen Innovationen mit und für die Truppe schnell umgesetzt werden.

Wie das konkret aussehen kann, zeigte CIHBw-Leiter Sven Weizenegger in seiner Keynote auf: durch den Aufbau eines starken Startup-Ökosystems und die Nutzung von Dual Use Produkten. Doch obwohl es bei der Ausstattung unser Soldat:innen sehr auf Tempo ankäme, müsse eine langfristige Finanzierung von Produkten immer mitgedacht werden, um nicht im „Valley of death“ zu verenden. 

Wie die Bundeswehr sich kriegstüchtig machen will, und wie Partnerschaften möglichst effektiv genutzt werden können, diskutierte Generalinspekteur Carsten Breuer auf dem Panel mit General Philippe Lavigne, dem Oberkommandierenden des NATO Allied Command Transformation (ACT). Breuer: „Wir müssen kriegstüchtig werden. Dafür können wir uns aber nicht 10-20 Jahre Entwicklungszeit nehmen.“ Die Bundeswehr schließe bereits die Transformationslücke, so der Generalinspekteur – die Realität zwinge Deutschland hierzu. Das zeige sich zum Beispiel daran, dass die Bundeswehr deutlich mehr off-the-shelf Produkte einkaufe.

Handfeste Beispiele für ein starkes Innovationsökosystem konnten die Gäste der MSC Innovation Night im Anschluss sehen. Zunächst bei einer Videobotschaft des ukrainischen Ministers für digitale Transformation, Mykhailo Fedorov. Minister Fedorov erklärte zunächst, wie es der Ukraine durch unbürokratische Beschaffung und Finanzierung von Startups gelang, höchst innovative Lösungen für die Streitkräfte in kürzester Zeit umzusetzen und eine schlagkräftige Drohnenarmee aufzubauen.

Abgerundet wurde die Innovation Night durch drei handfeste Beispiele aus dem Cyber Innovation Hub der Bundeswehr, die verdeutlichen, wie der Ukrainekrieg die Transformationsfähigkeit der deutschen Streitkräfte forciert hat. Dabei hat sich gezeigt, wie fruchtbar die Zusammenarbeit mit innovativen Startups seien kann, um Soldat:innen kriegstüchtig zu machen.

Das Video zur MSC Innovation Night 2024

Unsere Speaker:innen

  • General Carsten Breuer

    General Breuer ist seit März 2023 Generalinspekteur der Bundeswehr. Als ranghöchster Soldat verantwortet er die Gesamtkonzeption für die militärische Verteidigung, die Führung der Truppen sowie die Einsätze und Missionen der Bundeswehr. Seit dem Angriffskrieg Russlands auf die Ukraine, ist General Breuer dafür verantwortlich, die Bundeswehr auf die Landes- und Bündnisverteidigung auszurichten und sie auf die Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhundert vorzubereiten. Kurz: Er verantwortet die militärische Umsetzung der Zeitenwende!
     

  • Mykhailo Fedorov

    Als stellvertretender Premierminister und Minister für Digitale Transformation der Ukraine, ist Mykhailo Fedorov neben Präsident Selenskyj einer der Schlüsselakteure im Krieg gegen Russland. Von einer Hacking-Armee, über die Nutzung von AI, UAVs und VR-Innovationen, bis hin zur berühmten E-Government App Diia – kein Land kann momentan mit dem Innovationstempo der ukrainischen Streitkräfte mithalten. Unter schwierigsten Bedingungen werden immer wieder digitale, kreative und innovative Lösungen gefunden und umgehend an der Front eingesetzt. 

  • General Philippe Lavigne

    Als Oberkommandierender des NATO Allied Command Transformation (ACT) ist General Philippe Lavigne für die digitale Transformation der NATO verantwortlich und somit an einer der Schlüsselstellen für die Bereiche Digitalisierung und Innovation tätig. General Lavigne war im vergangenen Jahr erstmals zu Gast auf der MSC Innovation Night. Er betonte damals auf dem Panel, dass Innovation nicht nur Technologie sei, sondern auch eine neue Art des Denkens. Dass unsere Streitkräfte also ein echtes Innovationsmindset verinnerlichen müssen.

     

  • David van Weel

    David van Weel ist Stellvertretender NATO-Generalsekretär für Innovation, Hybride Bedrohungen und den Cyberraum. Damit ist er der wichtigste Berater von NATO-Generalsekretär Jens Stoltenberg für Fragen neuer technologischer Herausforderungen. Seine Aufgabe ist es, Lösungen für aktuelle und künftige militärische Herausforderungen zu entwickeln und der Allianz bereitzustellen. Damit soll der Innovations- und Technologievorsprung des Bündnisses langfristig sichergestellt werden.

  • Christoph Heusgen

    Christoph Heusgen ist seit 2022 Vorsitzender der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz. Zuvor war der Top-Diplomat Ständiger Vertreter Deutschlands bei den Vereinten Nationen und saß in dieser Zeit unter anderem dem VN-Sicherheitsrat im April 2019 und Juli 2020 vor. Heusgen gilt als enger Vertrauter von Bundeskanzlerin a.D. Angela Merkel und beriet die Kanzlerin über 12 Jahre in außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Fragen.
     

  • Jeanne Meserve

    Jeanne Meserve ist internationale Sicherheitsanalystin. Die preisgekrönte kanadische Journalistin wird durch die diesjährige MSC Innovation Night führen. Sie war Moderatorin und Korrespondentin für CNN und ABC News und gewann zwei Emmy Awards und einen Edward R. Murrow Award. Sie trug außerdem zu zwei CNN Peabody Awards u.a. für die Berichterstattung über den Hurrikan Katrina bei und moderierte die preisgekrönte Berichterstattung von CNN über die Ermordung von Yitzhak Rabin und den Tod von Prinzessin Diana.

Rückschau: MSC Innovation Night 2023

Der Schnittpunkt zwischen technologischer Innovation und Sicherheit war noch nie so dynamisch wie heute. Ständig entstehen neue Herausforderungen, aber auch Chancen, sowohl an realen als auch an abstrakteren Frontlinien. Bei der MSC Innovation Night 2023 debattierten hochkarätige Gäste über das Thema "Technology Defined Defence". Besonders Rich Lesser betonte in seiner Keynote-Address, dass man zügig den "Defense Innovation Readiness Gab" schließen sollte, um agil auf mögliche Gefahren reagieren zu können. Seine Ausführungen sowie alle Redebeiträge und Start-Up-Pitches der MSC Innovation Night 2023 findest du in unserem Videobeitrag.

Speaker:innen aus vergangenen Jahren